Camellia advice

Forum for discussion of Flowering and fuiting bonsai - Azalea, Serissa, Apricot etc.
bibimbap
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Bonsai Age: 0

Camellia advice

Post by bibimbap »

Hi there, newbie here and I recently bought a Camellia sasanqua from a nursery.

I am thinking of cutting the orange parts and leaving the white ones. The blue one I'm not sure. I'm leaning towards leaving it but cleaning it up a bit. The main trunk in the middle is too thick and doesn't taper. Looking for suggestions too.

Also, does anyone know if any resource regarding Camellia as a bonsai? Most I can find are high level information stuff.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
shibui
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: trident maple
Bonsai Age: 41
Bonsai Club: Albury/Wodonga; BSV; Canberra; VNBC

Re: Camellia advice

Post by shibui »

Camellia are not often used as bonsai. I think most people get frustrated with how slow they are to grow, lack of ramification and larger leaves and flowers but that does not mean it can't be done.
They bud really well after pruning so removing the thick leader and cutting back the other branches should result in a mass of new shoots.
The lower branch is pretty straight and bare too so I would also look at cutting it back at some stage but maybe leave it until you get good regrowth from the other section then prune it next summer.

I don't know of any camelia bonsai resources but someone else may have seen something.
http://shibuibonsai.com.au/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
bibimbap
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan

Post by bibimbap »

Thanks Shibui 😊
Raging Bull
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Pines
Bonsai Age: 5
Bonsai Club: Gold Coast-Tweed

Post by Raging Bull »