Got a pomegranate bonsai for my birthday

Forum for discussion of Flowering and fuiting bonsai - Azalea, Serissa, Apricot etc.
Kier
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Juniper
Bonsai Age: 0

Got a pomegranate bonsai for my birthday

Post by Kier »

So my parents found out about my current obsession with bonsai and picked up a pomegranate from a local bonsai nursery for a present for me. :tu: Very awesome of them!
PSX_20230310_174332.jpg
It's a very thin little thing and I'm probably going to repot into the ground (kangaroos might eat it if I'm not careful) or a large pot for a year or two to try thicken up the trunk.

I'm wondering how long it might take to grow another cm or two in those conditions... Any ideas? I'm very new to this. :D

For now I'll keep it in it's little pot for a while, so maybe next year or something. I know it's not going to grow much though.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
shibui
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: trident maple
Bonsai Age: 41
Bonsai Club: Albury/Wodonga; BSV; Canberra; VNBC

Re: Got a pomegranate bonsai for my birthday

Post by shibui »

Pomegranate is one of the slow growing species. It is hard to estimate growth rates because 'ground' differs markedly from real fertile vege patch soil to very hungry stony or sandy soils. Also you have not mentioned where you live which will also have a big impact on growth rates.
A wild guess on growth rates for pomegranate in ground would see maybe 1 cm thickness per year??? subject to all the above.
http://shibuibonsai.com.au/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
Kier
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan

Post by Kier »