PJ fig needs some styling

Forum for discussion of Tropical bonsai – Ficus, Bougainvillea, Fukien Tea, Dwarf Umbrella etc.
greg27
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Olive & Eucalypts
Bonsai Age: 2
Bonsai Club: SA Bonsai Society; VNBC

PJ fig needs some styling

Post by greg27 »

Hi all

I am very new to bonsai, but hoping to get into things more. I inherited a large Port Jackson fig from from granddad a couple of years ago; he was unfortunately quite unwell for his final few years so his bonsai didn't get a lot of attention. When I brought this guy home it was incredibly overgrown.

In the last two years I've given it a light trim every now and then, and have checked the roots and a repot doesn't seem necessary at this stage, but I haven't delved into any styling, etc. I would love to get some feedback on what you all think needs to be tackled. A lot of the branches are quite straight so I feel like adding in a bit of movement would be good, but beyond that I'm lost.

The pot diameter is 40cm, and the label on the front says "Port Jackson Fig 1985", so I'm assuming that it's 34 years old (granddad bought it maybe 20-25 years ago).

Thanks so much.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
melbrackstone
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: the ones that live
Bonsai Age: 28
Bonsai Club: Redlands, BIMER, VNBC

Re: PJ fig needs some styling

Post by melbrackstone »

Hi Greg

I'd join a club and take it along to one of the workshop days they usually have. Someone knowledgeable will take a look at it and give you all the advice you need. It's much better to do this one on one than it is to give advice online.

If you're not able to get into a club meeting, then do a search here on fig development to get some insight.