Conifer Bush ID Please?

Forum for requesting identification of unknown species. Please read the Sticky on requirements prior to posting.
AHE
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Bonsai Age: 0

Conifer Bush ID Please?

Post by AHE »

Hello

New here, first post.

I’ve had an interest in Bonsai for a long time but not had the opportunity to devote more of my time to it.

This bush was dug out of my front yard on Monday. Wondering if anyone knows the species and has any advice on how to keep it alive and how to shape it?

I trimmed quite a bit of the foliage and roots to fit it in the pot. Used general potting mix and watered it with seaweed solution.

Also have an American Sweetgum (Liquidambar) which I’ve been growing out for a few years. Will post it separately.

Thanks!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
shibui
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: trident maple
Bonsai Age: 41
Bonsai Club: Albury/Wodonga; BSV; Canberra; VNBC

Re: Conifer Bush ID Please?

Post by shibui »

The photos are a bit dodgy but it looks like some sort of juniper. It doesn't really matter what type it is because all junipers respond to similar care.
For now it just needs to be put somewhere a bit protected but still with plenty of light. Water only when the mix starts to dry out a bit. No need for fertiliser until it is growing well which probably won't be until summer next year. Junipers are usually slow to recover from transplant. Even if you see some growth do not be tempted to try styling for at least a year of good growth.
http://shibuibonsai.com.au/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
robb63
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: figs & junipers
Bonsai Age: 4

Post by robb63 »

Following on from what Shibui has said it will help to mist the foliage.
A small pump action spray bottle will do the trick. Spay as often as you can manage.