Bonsai care.

Australian conditions vary from one extreme to another. What do you do and when do you do it?
gettinginfo
Bonsai Age: 1

Bonsai care.

Post by gettinginfo »

Hey all,

First time poster and I'm new to Bonsai's in general. I was given a Bonsai a few months ago and have been caring for by simply having it in the shade and watering it before the soil dries up. Anyway after the big heatwave we had in SA the plant is looking a little worse for wear. I'm now wondering how I should be caring for it. We judged that on hot days of over 30 degrees it is probably too hot for the plant even for a short period in the morning so on days like that we keep it in the shade. When its a bit cooler we place it in the sun for short periods of time.

A majority of the leaves have gone brown and their appears to be emerging sprouts coming. As seen in the picture the tree doesn't look overall healthy.
My questions are how long should I place the tree in the sun? How often should I water the plant? Should I trim the plant to allow the new leaves to grow? Also what type of bonsai is this? Is it native?

Thank you in advance.
Marc
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: peppercorn
Bonsai Age: 20

Re: Bonsai care.

Post by Marc »

Hi Gettinginfo. Looks like an ASH and it seems healthy to me. In would consider them a hardy tree. At this time of year, being a deciduous tree, it will lose it's leaves anyway, so let that happen. From looking at the 2nd pic, you can see a very healthy green set of shoots there, so no dramas. I reckon looking at it, the whole tree is alive. Keep doing what you are doing, i reckon 50/50 shade and sun during the day, and keep moist, not wet. feed well over winter and watch it reward you in spring.