calestimon speices for bonsai

Bottle Brush
plantmanky
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: To many to pick from!!!
Bonsai Age: 40
Bonsai Club: American Bonsai Society, Nashville Tennesee Bonsai Society and others

calestimon speices for bonsai

Post by plantmanky »

Hi guys,

I'm new here and actually from the United States but have been using Australian plants for bonsai for a number of years. I have seen some great C. ridigus bonsai but I was wondering how C. Citrinus (C. lanceolatus) works. It has a broader leaf than some of the other species but it's the only one I have at my disposal. How are they at taking root pruning is my real question for sure. I have one that I've been growing up for a few years and it's got a 2 inch trunk on it now in a 7 gallon container and I am planning on cutting it back to force buds next spring. I have never worked on the roots of this tree before and don't want to do anything stupid with it. How agressively can the roots be worked on in your experience? Thanks in advance for your knowledge.
Randy Davis
Paducah, Kentucky USA
FlyBri
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Eucalyptus camaldulensis
Bonsai Age: 14
Bonsai Club: AusBonsai.com

Re: calestimon speices for bonsai

Post by FlyBri »

Gday Plantmanky, and welcome to AusBonsai!

I can't speak of Callistemon citrinus from direct experience, but the Bottlebrushes I have worked with took to root pruning just fine. In some cases, I have removed as much as half of the roots when taking the trees out of large nursery pots. I just found a link for C. citrinus Bonsai, and it would appear from this that they are a good specimen.

Good luck, and keep us posted!

Fly.
Steven
Site Admin
Site Admin
Favorite Species: [color=green]Casuarina[/color]
Bonsai Age: 15
Bonsai Club: AusBonsai & The School of Bonsai

Post by Steven »

G'day Plantmanky, great to have you here at AB.C!