jgmansell
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Ficus,Bougainvillea juniper
Bonsai Age: 5
Bonsai Club: Bonsai society of Queensland

First Native

Post by jgmansell »

I have just pruned my first native and would appreciate any advice for future development as I am just an amateur. Not sure if I have done enough, too much, or just made a mess. The trunk is 30mm diameter and 300mm high after pruning. The root system looked very healthy and I probably removed about a quarter.
Thanks
john
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
LLK
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Acacia howittii
Bonsai Age: 25
Bonsai Club: CBS, WCBG

Re: First Native

Post by LLK »

Good choice for a first native, I'd say. Little bottle brush with good movement. Styling OK, but..... Considering the type and size of the foliage, the design of this tree would benefit from being taller, so my advice is: encourage it to grow. A bonsai pot now is a bit premature; put it in an orchid pot and give it at least a couple of years before reducing the pot size, preferably more. Also: the present planting is too high.
All the best,

Lisa
jgmansell
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan

Post by jgmansell »

LLK wrote: July 27th, 2019, 8:44 am Good choice for a first native, I'd say. Little bottle brush with good movement. Styling OK, but..... Considering the type and size of the foliage, the design of this tree would benefit from being taller, so my advice is: encourage it to grow. A bonsai pot now is a bit premature; put it in an orchid pot and give it at least a couple of years before reducing the pot size, preferably more. Also: the present planting is too high.
All the best,

Lisa