Callistemon Glauca (Albany Bottle Brush)

Bottle Brush
Patmet
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: WA natives
Bonsai Age: 5
Bonsai Club: Albany Bonsai Collective, Bonsai Society of Western Australia

Callistemon Glauca (Albany Bottle Brush)

Post by Patmet »

Just wanted to put this species out there as a local favourite of mine that i believe has good potential for bonsai.

I have two of these in the development stage so far. One i have been growing from tube stock for a couple of years, and the other i purchased last year which was an on sale nursery reject as it was growing twisted and sideways.

The first one i have been growing from tubestock i initially aimed to style in a typical "tree" form, not having paid any attention to how these actually grow/what they look like in nature. Last year i actually started to pay attention to how many of them are growing around where i live and it really made me change tact.

These bottlebrushes generally grow naturally as a big tall shrub, with a fat swollen base. The base usually has many stems/trunks forming a clump style. I found the base on my tree to start getting fat quite early on, and every time i would do a prune, shoots would explode out of it. (It backbuds quite well on the old wood as well as from the base after a prune). I spent those first years cutting off all those base shoots every time. Now that I have discovered that this is how they have evolved to grow i realised why fight it? Let that be the guide for the design and make the natural clump style a feature. I really think these could make awesome clump style bonsai.

The leaves are naturally quite big and they have been reducing well so far but i am still unsure of how far. But that will just determine how big the tree needs to be. Mt second specimen i am just in the process of doing cut backs to encpurage back budding as it was long, Slender, and sparse. I'll post a picture of these in nature up the road from my house as well.

Cheers!