Bottle Brush
J-C
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Bonsai Age: 10

Callistemon - health

Post by J-C »

Ahoy,

well - at first: sorry 'bout my poor english, I'm from Germany and not a native speaker =)

I'm quite new to bonsai - so I started to read a lot before I decided to buy a Callistemon. I decided to buy this one because I'll keep it indoors an I got a lot of sun there - which most plants don't like ;)
Two weeks ago, the callistemon arrived and it looked fine - except the roots sticked out of the bottom of the bowl (you'll see it in one of the attached pictures)

Well - as i knew from reading, the callistemon need good watering and must'nt get dry. So I checked the moisture twice a day and wtered it by spraying the leaves and waterign the soil. Last monday i putted the bonsai into a waterbath - with bonsai-fertilizer. The soil was moist 'bout till wednesday.

The fact is - the callistemon started to loose leaves - the got yellow and dry and just fell off. And I'm not talking about 3 or 5 ... it's bout 20-30 a day... And even the new sprouts got brown tips.

So - well - does anyone what I can do?
Too much watering? to Less watering? Not enough light?(Cn't change that :/ )
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
nealweb
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: azalea
Bonsai Age: 4
Bonsai Club: Satsuki society

Re: Callistemon - health

Post by nealweb »

Welcome to ausbonsai. I no expert on callistamon but with any bonsai if the roots are clogging up the drainage holes they need clearing. I would be gently trying to ease it out of its pot and clearing those roots away to ensure good drainage as a first step and then hoping some of the native experts chime in :D
Good luck :fc:
neal
J-C
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan

Post by J-C »

Hi Neal,