simonm
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Acer palmatum
Bonsai Age: 0

dying casaurina

Post by simonm »

hey

i recently dug up 2 casaurina's out of my backyard, they were both really small, about 10 cm tall at max. i chucked one of them away a while ago because i damaged the rootes in the digging up, now the second tree is looking the same as the first tree. its leaves have gone a dull grey and look like they are drying out
i tried watering it more but that didnt help so now i am trying not watering it, so it stays the same as the natural place i took it from.
it is still alive but only just, the wood under the bark is pale pale green.

is there any advice anyone can give me?
Hey all
Jamie
Bonsai passionardo
Bonsai passionardo
Favorite Species: CLERO!!!,ficus, celtis, juniper, elms
Bonsai Age: 9
Bonsai Club: AUSBONSAI.COM

Re: dying casaurina

Post by Jamie »

im no expert with casuarina but from what i remember is they can seem dead for a long time before they shoot, i am not sure on how they go with collection, i presume this is a stress related prob.

i would wait it out, try keep the soil moist, and keep in the shade.

JMO

jamie :D
SHOHIN YAKUZA!!!
:twisted: taking the top half of trees of since 2005! :twisted:
and growing trees for the future generations! 50+ year plans :D
Greth
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: olive
Bonsai Age: 4

Post by Greth »

I lifted two around about Christmas, left one little branch of needles on each so I could see how they were doing. Needles have died back a bit, more on one tree than the other, but still showing some green on both.
I am keeping them with bases immersed in water, its a heatwave here anyway, but I figure drying out will kill them faster than rot. Doing the same with a River Red gum, after all, they enjoy being underwater for part of the year.