Collected Serrata stumps

Ericifolia, Integrifolia, Marginata, Serrata, Spinulosa etc
jimmi
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Bonsai Age: 0

Collected Serrata stumps

Post by jimmi »

A mate of mine had an old Asbestos backyard shed pulled down a little while ago, and next to that shed were these Serrata's they were going to be condemned, so I chopped the trunk and got these home asap; potted them up and gave them a drink of Seasol.
Boxing day I selected some branches and put some wire on, I have a few smaller branches that are gonna be sacrificed and some I'm gonna grow and keep. Iv'e gone through I think all the threads on these guy's and some folks have had mixed results, I'm glad these have pulled through.
I'm still learning so any advice or tips would be welcomed :) .

Potted up..
ImageImage

Two months later..
ImageImage

After a little styling.. A couple of days after this pic was taken I have added some bends in the branches..
ImageImage
Pearcy001
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Natives and Exotics

Re: Collected Serrata stumps

Post by Pearcy001 »

Nice find! They look nice and big.

I've read the branches sometimes struggle if they are wired too tight and not growing freely. May pay off to have the branch tip growing a bit more upward, as the lower branches look like they may be angled a little low.

Cheers,
Pearcy.
Last edited by Pearcy001 on January 2nd, 2016, 7:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.
jimmi
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan

Post by jimmi »

Pearcy001 wrote:Nice find! They look nice and big.

I've read the branches sometimes struggle if they are wired too tight and not growing freely. May pay off to have the branch tip growing a bit more upward, as the lower branches look like they may be angled a little low.

Cheers,
Pearcy.
Thanks Pearcy001,