Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Eucalyptus Crebra
Bonsai Age: 0

Banksia for a beginner

Post by stewart57 »

Hi
I'm completely new to bonsai.
I have just bought a banksia integrifolia about 75cm tall which I'd like to bonsai. Can I just cut off the top to the eventual height I want (about 50cm) and leave in current pot (about 15cm) till spring?

thanks
Grant Bowie
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Banksia
Bonsai Age: 52
Bonsai Club: Canberra

Re: Banksia for a beginner

Post by Grant Bowie »

Hi Banksia Beginner.

As it is coming into autumn then winter you should leave a cut down till it really warms up again, Say November or even better early December.

Read Banksia integrifolia as Bonsai on the Native section of this forum and browse other articles also in the same area.

Grant Bowie
shibui
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: trident maple
Bonsai Age: 41
Bonsai Club: Albury/Wodonga; BSV; Canberra; VNBC

Post by shibui »

Banksia integrifolia is a good choice for bonsai.
They respond really well to pruning with new buds all over the trunk, even on bare wood.
New shoots might still grow if you prune now but it might just sit till next growing season next spring.

You will need to cut shorter than the height you want because trees only ever grow bigger after pruning. If you cut at finished height you'll find the new shoots grow from close to the cut and grow upward so the tree will soon be taller again. For a tree of 50cm tall I would cut around 40, probably lower if it is the first reduction.

Should be able to stay in the current pot till spring. Now is not a very good time to repot banksia. They seem to do better when root pruned in warmer weather. I do mine in November and December. You have not put a location in your profile or in the post so hard to be definitive as we don't know if you are tropical or cold mountains. There can be big differences in recommendations according to location.