Japanese Zelkova

Share your success stories about defoliation, bare rooting and anything else relating to maintaining healthy bonsai.
doolz_e
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Shimpaku
Bonsai Age: 2

Japanese Zelkova

Post by doolz_e »

Hi all,

This is my first post on here and coming from a complete novice angle so am hoping someone out there can help guide me.

I purchased a Japanese Zelkova (elm) from a bonsai nursery as what I understand is a starter about 4 years old on a black planter pot. I am still working out what I want to acheive with this piece in terms of size, shape, etc. Couple of things I am curious about at the moment:

1. Have a look at the pics below (sorry about quality on some was in the backyard at sundown taking these with a tired baby in one arm) and tell me if you think the bottom half of the trunk looks unhealthy. It appears an off green/grey colour almost like mould/moss dried out over time. Is this normal. Unsure as the top half looks a nice healthy grey (of which this species is referred to...Grey Bark). If there is something wrong here is it worth me continuing with developing this piece?

2. If so then I was planning to plant out to a trainer pot. I am tossing up between going to a polystyrene box, pond basket or putting in the ground contained in a collinder or with a plastic sheet underneath the roots as per alpinart's post: viewtopic.php?f=104&t=1994&hilit=pumpin+trunks

The roots look fairly healthy but I am unsure on how to prepare for the next stage i.e. branch/leader pruning, roots, new soil, timing. I am also wanting to know when can I expect new shoots/leaves ion this baby? It has just hit spring here in Melbourne and all my other trees are kicking in with new growth.

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers
D :mrgreen:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Bretts
Bonsai Philosopher
Bonsai Philosopher
Favorite Species: carpinus jbp
Bonsai Age: 12