Literati slowly getting there

EdwardH
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Those that survive
Bonsai Age: 0

Literati slowly getting there

Post by EdwardH »

This is my first attempt at a literati and for some reason back in 2007 I thought that a Elaeocarpus reticulatus was the perfect native species to use. :lost: If my memory serves correctly, I had cut off quite a few branches that I had used to thicken the trunk and when finished I realised that I had cut off ALL the lower branches :palm: so the obvious solution was to train a tree with large course leaves into a literati. Go figure. Oh well, where there is a will there is a way.
All suggestions on how to improve the tree are welcome.

Below is a pic of the tree before this afternoons trim.
2014 Dec A.JPG
Below is a pic of the tree after this afternoons trim.
2014 Dec D.JPG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
wattynine
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: bonsai
Bonsai Age: 10
Bonsai Club: Backyard Bonsai

Re: Literati slowly getting there

Post by wattynine »

Interesting choice of tree, I'll give you that, if you can get it right it will certainly be unique.
:imo: the top is too heavy for the rest of the tree, could use some jinning down.
Good luck
Watty
EdwardH
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan

Post by EdwardH »

The top is the result of two failed thread grafts. The first was left for one year and the second was left on for two years before separating. On both occasions the new growth was substantially larger than the original branch used, especially the two year old graft yet neither "took". :lost: The second attempt had a very large swelling around the exit of the branch. Generally a sign of a successful thread graft. Not this time :lost: