How to repot & style this large 30yo PJ Fig?

Dasein
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Bonsai Age: 2

How to repot & style this large 30yo PJ Fig?

Post by Dasein »

I have recently been reunited with this PJ fig, which was gifted to my family in my childhood and has remained in the same pot for over 30 years.
It has undergone little maintenance, but remains healthy despite the lack of care.

I have little experience with large bonsai and would like some advice about how you might proceed with this tree?
I have included photos from 4 side angles and several shots of the trunk.

I have just moved it from Port Macquarie to Sydney.
I was thinking to repot it in Spring.

The pot is deep and there appears to be some interesting roots just beneath the surface. I reckon there may be an interesting twisted trunk waiting just beneath the surface. It looks as though it could be separated into two trees, if the current structure doesn't look appealing.

Would it be best to decide the tree's shape when I repot, after I have seen the root system?
Should I do hard pruning when I repot, or should I give the tree time to recover first before making decisions on style?

How would you go about repotting and styling this tree?

I would love to hear any advice you have!

Dasein
1.jpg
2.jpg
3.jpg
4.jpg
5.jpg
6.jpg
7.jpg
8.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
KIRKY
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Flowering
Bonsai Age: 12
Bonsai Club: BSV

Re: How to repot & style this large 30yo PJ Fig?

Post by KIRKY »

If it was mine, in your climate I would do it all now. Repot and major cut back. Once bare I would look at roots to decide one or two trees. Cut back roots and pot. Then water, liquid feed every week and it should start shooting in a few weeks. In your climate you still have a good growing period of 4-5 months at this time of year. :imo:
Cheers
Kirky
Great oaks from little acorns grow.
Keep Calm and Ramify