Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Banksia
Bonsai Age: 52
Bonsai Club: Canberra

Conversation on Leptospermum

Post by Grant Bowie »

9FA58E2D-8A2C-4208-BBF9-82EE9421EC86.jpeg
Hi all,

Just browsing and thought we could do with a thread all about the different Leptospermum we use and love.

Please feel free to add types of Lepto that you have used and had good results from.

My personal favourite is L laevigatum, the coastal tea tree. I have grown others and intend to grow many more in the future, so looking for input.

Cheers,

Grant
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Keels
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Pines, Eucalyptus and Callistemon
Bonsai Age: 11
Bonsai Club: CBS, Goulburn & VNBC

Re: Conversation on Leptospermum

Post by Keels »

Great idea Grant.

I have been growing a couple of leptos for just over 18 months now. Nothing really of note or to brag. Couple more years and i should have something decent.

Leptospermum 'Mesmer Eyes' - I picked up a plant at cool country natives in spring last year. It seems to grow fairly fast. Its leaves are very different to the others I'm growing. I haven't styled it in anyway yet. I will move the tree into a large pot to grow for a couple more years. I plan to expand my efforts into these leptos, they just have a really nice foliage and bark. Some examples i've seen on the internet and CBS meetings have really impressed me.