Care and styling advice for Leptospermum Laevigatum?

CommonCalluna
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Bonsai Age: 0

Care and styling advice for Leptospermum Laevigatum?

Post by CommonCalluna »

Hello there :wave: ,

I am brand new to bonsai and would like some advice on how to deal with my leptospermum laevigatum's present situation.

This is the tree here.

I bought it as a plant to develop, and I'm excited to have it as part of my collection.

It is root bound as all heck, the pot is firm with no give. I can't even get a finger into the soil to check the moisture, I had to use a chopstick. But I know now is the wrong time for root work on leptospermum. I'm worried about it getting enough water until it's warm enough to go digging and untangling in the roots. I currently have it in a tray and I'm allowing it to absorb water from the bottom.
Could this lead to root rot if the container is so densly packed?

Information on the plant talks about how delicate leptospermum roots are to being touched at the wrong time of year, are they too delicate to be slip potted? I'm thinking slip potting until summer could be the best solution to the rootbound problem.

I also have a question on the future design of the tree. I have been looking at it a lot, trying to decide what it wants to be. The trunk as it is has a long straight section before it tapers.

Trunk now.

I believe a small trim could improve the flow of the tree along this line.

So I would be looking to prune these branches.

I would really appreciate some advice on;
-when to prune, and how long apart to time branch pruning and root pruning. (root pruning/detangling is going to be far more important for the health of this tree than a style cut so I need to prioritise it.)

- how does die back affect leptospermum laevigatum? How far from flush should my cuts be to avoid this?