Pruning advice (and more...)

Incana, Lanceolata, Linariifolia, Rhaphiophylla, Styphelioides etc
Adi
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Bonsai Age: 0

Pruning advice (and more...)

Post by Adi »

wave: I’m new to bonsai, and I got this melaleuca!

https://youtu.be/5v4E7OEsefo
(Couldn’t upload it here For some reasone so it’s on youtube.. )

I’m wondering how much and when I should Be pruning it.
I obviously want it smaller then it is right now, but if I cut a branch and leave no leafs will the branch die?
It’s the end of a hot summer now in Israel, should I be pruning now?
How much should I be watering it?
Does it need full sun?
The leaves in the edges are starting to turn yellow, what does that mean?

So many questions.....
Thank you for helping!
shibui
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: trident maple
Bonsai Age: 41
Bonsai Club: Albury/Wodonga; BSV; Canberra; VNBC

Re: Pruning advice (and more...)

Post by shibui »

Ausbonsai only allows uploads less than 1Mb so you may have to compress or resize photos before loading.
Most melaleucas can sprout buds from old and bare wood but not all. Do you have a species name? Fine leaves could be M. ericifolia as it is a common nursery tree here but there are many other similar mels.
Pruning can be done any time of year. Obviously budding and regrowth will be quicker when the tree is active so spring and summer is a good time to prune. Many of my native trees were growing all winter so pruning in winter is also OK. If you prune when the tree is not active it will just sit and wait for the next growth phase then bud and grow.
Most mels love water. Many of them are from wet areas and streamsides. I have some sitting permanently in a tray of water and they love that but some species are adapted to dry regions and do not need that much water. Species dependent and will also depend on your soil mix and pot size but twice a day in summer is probably good.