When is the best time to collect this species?...

Incana, Lanceolata, Linariifolia, Rhaphiophylla, Styphelioides etc
Dario
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Pines,Eng Elm,Cork Oak,Ash,Casuarina,Mels,Box..etc
Bonsai Age: 3

When is the best time to collect this species?...

Post by Dario »

Hi all, I am new to Ausbonsai and I am wondering what is the best time of year to collect this species of paperbark? Do you do it in summer? Also have the same query regarding tea-tree? (I live in Melbourne) If this information is available elsewhere on this website, could someone please direct me to it?-if not I would really apreciate an answer. Thank you for your time-Dario. ;)
Pup
Knowledgeable rogue
Knowledgeable rogue
Favorite Species: melaleucas
Bonsai Age: 31
Bonsai Club: Bonsai society of Western Australia

Re: When is the best time to collect this species?...

Post by Pup »

Dario, what is your experience at collecting :?: . The reason I ask is if you do not have sufficient experience. It does not matter what time, as it is doubtful they will survive.
It is not a matter of just going and digging them up, and hoping. However if they are Garden or in the way of bulldozers. Then it is a matter of digging them and hoping.

The Melaleuca incana being a WA tree will survive root pruning now, as well as top pruning. The Leptospermum is another question what species is it :?: as they can be touchy.
My recommendation when collecting is to collect as much of the root ball as possible ( you can carry ) prune back the foliage. When you get them home clean up all broken or damaged roots. Then Soak the trees for at least one week in a seasol solution.

Then wait and see, as with all collections this is the one none variable, they all take time to recover or die.

Good luck. Cheers :) Pup
IN THE LIGHT OF KNOWLEDGE ATTAINED, ACHIEVEMENT IS WITHIN SIGHT

I am not a complete fool, some parts are missing
Dario
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan

Post by Dario »