Some Air Layering Experiments

Discussions about propagating from cuttings, seeds, air layers etc. Going on a dig (Yamadori) or thinking of importing? Discuss how, when and where here.
CommonCalluna
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Bonsai Age: 0

Some Air Layering Experiments

Post by CommonCalluna »

Hello there, new to the community here but really excited about joining.

In between the deluges in Melbourne yesterday I decided to take my first try at air layering.

I thought I'd share what I've done, and how it goes. Feedback and suggestions are welcome.

The first tree I tried it on is a new Chinese Elm, it's been pumping out growth since I repotted it after buying. (I've moved all my baby bonsai's into grow pots, both to encourage thickness and growth, and because I'm a beginner and the heatwaves in summer will be brutal, more soil means I have a greater margin for error on the 40c days.) I believe the tree will look better if I take off the middle branch as it diminishes the taper effect from root to crown.
So I've given it a go.
For such a small tree I found some 30ml dressing containers at my local $2 shop, poked a bunch of holes in the bottom, and cut a slit for the trunk.

For substrate for all of these air layers I've used a mix of peat moss and perlite.
I've had bad luck using spaghnum moss on anything but my carnivorous plants, it seems to either stay way too wet and drown the plant, or soak all the water intended for the plant into itself and leave the plant thirsty.
I was looking to try coconut coir on at least one of these, but 3 local Bunnings were all out, so peat moss it is.

Some photos of the Chinese Elm

I've also tried this process on a neglected lilypilly that's been growing despite the lack of care.
I think the base could make a nice open base for a bonsai tree one day, especially with all the growth it's been shooting out this spring.