Bottle Brush
Pearcy001
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Natives and Exotics
Bonsai Age: 0

Repot and prune now?

Post by Pearcy001 »

I got this callistemon subulatus recently.

1. - Just wondering if I should be repotting it now or is it too late?

2. - if it is a yes to repotting it now, should I cut back the top growth before I repot, or a couple of weeks after repot to try get some roots regrowing.

Toward the top it is beginning to get the circling roots, thus making me think I may be better off repotting now rather than next summer.

I'm new to the species so advice would be appreciated. I believe Calli's are fine being bare rooted and root pruned, if I'm wrong let me know.

Cheers,
Pearcy.

Sent from my SM-G920I using Tapatalk
Last edited by Pearcy001 on February 3rd, 2016, 11:12 am, edited 1 time in total.
Jarad
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Juniperus, Melaleuca, Taxodium
Bonsai Age: 9

Re: Repot and prune now?

Post by Jarad »

That's a nice piece of stock you have there. I thought it was slot larger until I saw the picture with your thumb in it.

I don't have any experience with this species, but if it was mine I would at least tease out some of the roots and slip it in a bigger pot with some fresh dirt.
-Jarad

I don't trust Bonsai, they are a little shady.
KIRKY
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Flowering
Bonsai Age: 12
Bonsai Club: BSV

Post by KIRKY »

According to wiki Spring/Summer repot so you should be right.
https://www.ausbonsai.com.au/wiki/index. ... =Repotting
Cheers
Kirky
Great oaks from little acorns grow.
treeman
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: any
Bonsai Age: 25

Post by treeman »

I don't get it. Why bother repotting now when there is still a chance we could see 40* C and 5% humidity when you can wait until mid March?? There is no NEED to do it now..
Mike
kcpoole
Perpetual Learner
Perpetual Learner
Favorite Species: Maple
Bonsai Age: 15