Ericifolia, Integrifolia, Marginata, Serrata, Spinulosa etc
BonsaiPancake
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Olive
Bonsai Age: 4

Banksia Leaves Curling

Post by BonsaiPancake »

Everything seemed fine a few weeks ago, but this poor guys leaves have started to harden and curl, plus lose a lot of colour.

Some of the branches seem a little 'soft' (still hard, but just not like normal). No fertiliser through winter, and usually just PowerFeed pellets and PowerFeed/Seasol liquid through the growing season. It's in a pond basket, so typically drainage is excellent so hard to argue overwatering but I'm not an expert. I haven't looked at the roots yet, I thought I would ask here first.

I've had it for around 3 years and repot usually mid to late spring with no issues like this before.

Thanks in advance!
20230801_122819.jpg
20230801_122823.jpg
20230801_122833.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
legoman_iac
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Banksia, Fig, Jacaranda, Maple, Oak
Bonsai Age: 12

Re: Banksia Leaves Curling

Post by legoman_iac »

Not much experience yet with banksia ... but looks dry to me, no?
Phil Rabl
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Bonsai Age: 20
Bonsai Club: Canberra, Ballarat, VNBC

Post by Phil Rabl »

My banksias are often the first of my trees to need watering. I also wonder if your tree has dried out.
BonsaiPancake
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan

Post by BonsaiPancake »

With the warm and dry winter I could see it being dry, but my watering has still been semi-frequent. I wouldn't say the soil ever fully dried out, but it's definitely possible that I just didn't notice.

If this is the case, is there anything I can do to recover it or is it done for?
shibui
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: trident maple
Bonsai Age: 41
Bonsai Club: Albury/Wodonga; BSV; Canberra; VNBC

Post by shibui »