If I could turn back time…

Share your success stories about defoliation, bare rooting and anything else relating to maintaining healthy bonsai.
JimmyTheSkip
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Bonsai Age: 0
Bonsai Club: Currently researching

If I could turn back time…

Post by JimmyTheSkip »

[image] https://media.giphy.com/media/3ohze26ae ... /giphy.gif[/image]

I know you all thought of Cher when you saw the title, it’s ok to admit it… :lol: Moving on.

If you could turn back time and give yourself 3 pieces of advice when you first started, knowing what you know now, what would it be?

I was always taught that it’s better to learn from others mistakes and as a beginner I feel like I’m probably doing things wrong and won’t have a clue that I’m doing it wrong until the mistakes have been made. Hopefully this thread can stop that.
TimS
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Japanese Maple
Bonsai Age: 9
Bonsai Club: Waverly Bonsai Group

Re: If I could turn back time…

Post by TimS »

Hmmm just 3 pieces of advice for my younger bonsai self. So i never struggled with the keeping them alive aspect of bonsai, so mine lean more to improving development.

1. Young material might be cheap to buy, but limits learning and development. It is worth buying more advanced/ rough material to learn more advanced techniques on *caveat being you should be confident in keeping trees alive before rushing out to spend big $$$ on stock*.

2. Join a club, don't just sit in your back garden and do it yourself. While there are umpteen videos on youtube, nothing beats direct guidance of someone experienced there to guide you. Just be aware all who claim to be experienced are not necessarily so.